Oh​, be careful little ears what you hear.

I grew up in Church. And it seemed like there was a song or little rhyme for just about everything. One such song spoke to the need to guard your eyes and ears because God was watching.

I was reminded of this little song as I read Isaiah 11:3 today.

“…and he will delight in the fear of the Lord.
He will not judge by what he sees with his eyes,
or decide by what he hears with his ears;”

 

The passage is a prophecy about Christ. He alone is the one who can judge with pure motives and absolute justice. Christ doesn’t make snap, knee-jerk, judgments.

I, on the other hand, have a proclivity to make snap judgments. I catch a snapshot of someone’s actions or hear a sound byte passed along by a third-party, and I’m all set with a judgment about them. I assume I know the full story because my emotions tell me nothing else could be truer. I can easily add to the tension of a relationship because I’ve read too much into a passing glance someone gave me and I begin to play judge and jury.

Perhaps you can relate. It’s easy to grade others based on what we see or hear while grading ourselves based on our intentions. This may be one of the most damaging things for relationships.

Maybe this is why God encourages us to “above all else, guard your heart”  and to “cast all our cares on Him” (Proverbs 4:23 + 1 Peter 5:7) – because it’s easy to allow a whisper or rumor to cloud our view of another. If we are not careful about guarding our eyes and ears, we can create storylines, weakening bridges in relationships God wanted us to build.

So, be careful little eyes what you see. Be careful little ears what you hear. Cast the concerns and assumptions to God, allowing Him to filter out what is not true as He gives you the grace to believe the best in every person or situation.

Leave a Reply

