Seed it

I like yard work.

Well, I enjoy cutting my grass. Okay, okay – actually, I want to enjoy having a yard that all the neighbors are almost envious of. (You know, because envy is a sin and I’d hate to cause anyone to stumble and all.)

So I choose to put the needed work in so I get my desired results. By no means have I gotten to that point with my yard, honestly, I’m not sure I’m even close!

Recently I borrowed a tiller from a friend and was channeling my inner farmer as I tore into a section of my yard that I have yet to see any good results in. I was preparing the soil for the grass seed so it could take root and be more effective.

Here’s where the practical and natural can help us discover a spiritual principle – you know, in case you didn’t see it coming.

For a couple of years I’ve planted the same type of grass seed, yet have not seen any good results.
The Bible tells us that God’s Word is like seed which is sown. Mark chapter four relays a parable and teaching from Jesus where seed (God’s Word) is sown into different types of soil.

Same seed but different results.

Can I just say, if you are not seeing the desired results that you want, there is nothing wrong with the seed. I agree, it is way more convenient to blame the seed, but that’s not the issue. The trouble is that the soil hasn’t been adequately (1) purposed, (2) prepared, or (3) protected.

Purposed in that it must not be dual use. The parable says the first soil was actually a path. It hadn’t really made a decision to be ground for good seed. Thus “the birds of th air” (typically indicative of demonic activity in scripture, but that’s for another blog) came and swept the seed away. If we want the life of God to grow in our lives, we must first decide to get off the fence and have a singular purpose in our hearts.

Prepared because there are many rocky places in our hearts and lives. Places where we are stubborn as a rock and don’t want to give up. We have places in our heart that are just crowded and Gods Word cannot take root. We sincerely want to follow God and love be for Him, but our heart’s soil hasn’t been conditioned to take the heat.

Finally, the soil of our heart must be protected. The seed that fell on this soil grew and grew, but couldn’t last because other things “came up” and choked the life out of the seed. Ever have things that just “came up” in your life? You know, cares/worries in life, lust and drive for other things, and pride that keeps you thinking just one day away from God’s word or one Sunday isn’t that big of a deal. What is it that you need to protect the seed from in your life?

I’m sure this can sound a little unconventional. I mean, your neighbors don’t live like this. Your co-workers seem to not give it s second thought. I’m reminded of the words that Peter wrote when he tells us we are supposed to seem a little peculiar and view things in uncommon ways.

Back to my yard.

I’m sure my neighbors are thinking it’s strange that I’m tearing up my ground to plant new grass seed at this time of year. They may likely be thinking, “bless his heart, he sure is working hard. Too bad it’s the wrong time of year to do that. It’s not gonna work.”
You see, It’s late spring/early summer. But I’m not planting the same kind of seed that they are. I’m planting bermuda seed and it requires a different soil temperature and different rhythm of planting in order to achieve success.

It may be peculiar to people who see your rhythm of daily reading God’s Word instead while not catching the morning news. They may look at you and see how your protect the God-shaped priorities in your life and think you need to get with the program.

But that’s the thing – you’re planting different seed!

Leave a Reply

