Character Check

Exodus 3:6-7
6 So Moses gave the command, and this message was sent throughout the camp: “Men and women, don’t prepare any more gifts for the sanctuary. We have enough!” So the people stopped bringing their sacred offerings. 7 Their contributions were more than enough to complete the whole project.

___

I love this story. God gave a command to the children of Israel; they rose to the occasion. All types of people, doing what they were gifted and designed to do, everyone giving sacrificially toward the goal – Obedience to God.
The tabernacle was a beautiful sight I am sure. Detail and creativity were given close attention.

As a pastor, this would seem to be the greatest day. It is like a fantasy to think you could stand up and say, “We don’t need any more money. We have abundance.” CRAZY! I realize it was a project that had an end and it wasn’t the ministry that was continually needing to happen.
But that didn’t stop the Holy Spirit was giving me a character check this morning.

As I read the passage, I thought to myself, “That would be nice, to have all the needs met and an abundance.” Quickly followed by the Holy Spirit’s comment, “Yes, but are you the kind of leader who would stand up and tell them to stop giving money?”

That’s a hard question. There is something inside of me as a human and a man, that wonders if I could ever have enough. There always seems to be more out there to do and achieve. But what about when it’s time to stop? Will I be willing to stop? Am I so addicted to progress and the need for more, that I wouldn’t even give it a second look? What would I do if I wasn’t chasing more?

I know what I want the answer to be. But I am not sure what my answer really is.

I believe there is tension or a balance to find and strike in all this, but for now, God is refining my heart.

Leave a Reply

