Keep it zipped-up

Galatians 1: 15-17….But even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace. Then it pleased him to reveal his Son to met so that I would proclaim the Good News about Jesus to the Gentiles. When this happened, I did not rush out to consult with any human being. Nor did I go up to Jerusalem to consult with those who were apostles before I was. Instead, I went away into Arabia, and later I returned to the city of Damascus.”

Have you ever been on the receiving end of  an “over-share”? You know that point where people are talking to you and they share something that is “TMI” (too much information). They share something you weren’t ready to hear.

Today’s culture almost invites you to share EVERYTHING. I am not convinced this is always the best route to take. Even when it comes to spiritual things.

I talk with many people who are busy trying to figure out “God’s plan for their life”. They talk and talk about it, hoping they will figure it out. The conversation is a re-occurring one for many.

Can I make a statement? (Of course I can, it’s my blog.) God has a plan for your life. I don’t have a plan for your life. Your friend you keep trying to “figure it out with”, doesn’t have the plan for you life. God is the Author of your story. If you want to know what God desires for you to do, read the Bible, obey it, talk with God and listen to Him. When you think you have heard Him, go back to Him and make sure.

That is how it worked for Paul. God spoke something to him and he didn’t immediately go and post it on his Facebook page. He didn’t tweet to see if anyone else thought it was a good fit for him to do. In fact, he withdrew even more so that God could fully unpack what it was God was saying to him. Too often we hear a whisper from God and we run to share it with someone. We desperately want  the affirmation from other’s that we miss out on first getting confirmation from God.

I believe in doing life with people. I believe that leaders should have a strong team around them. But I know you must hear God first. Develop the idea, directions, or insight with the Holy Spirit before you rush to tell someone else. I think we need to be aware of the spiritual over-share.

Mary, the mother of Jesus, was visited by an angel and there were some things she “pondered in her heart”. God spoke to Joseph in a dream and the first thing he did was tell his brothers. When they finished laughing at him and telling him he was crazy, God gave him another shot and showed him another dream. Joseph didn’t get it, and he shared it again with his family. Recently I was listening to a sermon from Robert Morris and he pointed out that after that second dream, God never spoke directly to Joseph again in a dream. Sure, Joseph had a gift to interpret dreams, but God didn’t give Joseph a dream again. Perhaps it was because God shared a secret with Joseph, but Joseph wasn’t good with secrets.

When God begins to speak, and He desires to, lean into Him more. Don’t be so quick to tell someone. Sure, the time will come when you need to get wise counsel. But be careful not do so prematurely. Draw close to God. He will draw close to you. Ponder thing in your heart, write them down, listen and wait.

If you keep it zipped-up, you won’t over-share.

3 thoughts on “Keep it zipped-up

Leave a Reply

