Honesty

So i’ve been thinking about honesty. But not the part of honesty where you could lie to not get in trouble. I mean the kind of honesty with yourself about who are, what you really think, and how you really feel. Maybe another word for it would be authentic…
I read in Galatians 6 today. I read verse 3 and it kinda got me thinking. Here’s what it says, “For if anyone thinks himself to be something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself”. WOW! It’s not that i can blame someone else for who i am. I’ve deceived myself. I do this by down playing how i feel. By ignoring what my fears are. By allowing pride to cloud reality.
So here, i’ll admit something true, i enjoy American Idol…not totally sure why. But on this show, especially during the try-out, there are tons of people show up to audition who don’t know what ‘on key’ is. As i sit there, completely amused and entertained, i’m also baffled. Why don’t they have a friend who tells them the truth. And even more importantly, why don’t they listen to the pros who are sitting there trying to tell them the truth? That truth really isn’t that relative…i’d say its actual truth. Perhaps they struggle with what i struggle with, honesty.

I’m not one to succumb myself to human criticism, but maybe i should be. Proverbs says it’s better to hear the truth from a friend than get your butt kissed by an enemy (loose translation by me). It’s not easy to hear truth, and it’s difficult to be honest with yourself. Today, i want to be honest with myself. Am i struggleing? i want to admit it. Am i blowing off people who need care? I want to admit it. I want to be honest. I want to be authentic and honest…always.

Leave a Reply

